Financial Ponderings

My online money lobe

RANT!!! February 28, 2008

Filed under: Random — financialponderings @ 11:33 pm
Tags: , , ,

Ok, just got back from reading a post over at the Debt Sucks Blog. The poor guy has recently been landed with a $1125 bill after 10 months of no contact with his old landlord. This kind of thing annoys me so much! You can be blissfully unaware of a mounting debt & your creditor can not bother getting in touch for such a long period & then slap a huge bill in your face AND threaten you with legal action if you do not pay up. Worst of all, there is nothing in place to stop them doing this. If you are aware & have then opportunity to pay on a monthly basis, it is much more managable than a pile of 10 month bills to pay all at once. Surely creditors should recognise this? Grrr!!!

Anyway, I left a comment suggesting he contact them to try and negotiate some sort of reduced payment. I found a great article at Debt Advice 4 Free with 5 great tips on how to do this successfully. If creditors can get away with this, at least we can go in with a bit of ammo instead of just bending over and taking it like a… well, you know 😉

 

2 Responses to “RANT!!!”

  1. Well, like I think I said somewhere (maybe), I assumed they were showing a bit of sympathy by living with the grand or so I had already paid for that semester’s rent and not trying to collect the rest, but just not telling me so.

    In any case, as explained in a post after the aforelinked one, my mom took care of it… even though she shouldn’t have had to.

  2. financialponderings Says:

    Good ‘ol Mom eh? I had a similar problem when my Gas supplier had calculated my bill wrong over a period of 9 months. Needless to say they UNDERcalculated it & then sent me a red letter with the words ‘pay now’ above a bill of around £350.

    It’s not the biggest bill ever, but when you are on a tight budget, it can really mess things up. I think it is unfair that they can make such mistakes & you just have to live with it. Guess this is where all the angst comes from 😉


Leave a Reply

